Part 2 of PURBEAUTY: My Top Picks

I have gotten to know PURBEAUTY inside and out ever since I started teaching in Makeup Designory Manila. Here are my current faves from this store:

1. ORLY NAIL POLISH, P349.75

Before I became I makeup artist, I specifically remember the 2 times I had a professional manicure and pedicure: my junior prom and my sister’s debut. Putting on nail polish never really appealed to me; I see it as a time consuming, unnecessary task. Now, I can’t live without it! As a makeup artist and makeup teacher, my hands are always captured in photos (especially wedding photos) and people always look at them whenever I do makeup demos. So every two weeks, I go to my suking nail spa for mani-pedi to make sure that my fingernails are always clean, polished, and coated in a pretty shade (I couldn’t do my own mani-pedi even if my life depended on it). The spa charges more if you want to use premium nail polish, so I just bought my favorite Orly shades since I know I’ll be using them over and over again. My staple shades are:

Country Club Khaki. A “greige” shade (gray + beige), or as my friend put it, my bangkay-gray shade. :p

Cupcake

Gumdrop

Orly has launched their new Birds of a Feather line, and the Purbeauty people told me it’s going to be available in a month’s time in the store.

I am not a fan of metallic shades, but this one really appealed to me:

Nite Owl

Pretty, no? Purbeauty people, are you reading this? SPRINT ASIA PEOPLE, ARE YOU READING THIS??? This would make a very nice Christmas gift! Hehe 🙂

2. BEN NYE LOOSE POWDER, P300-400

I’m so happy more and more professional makeup are now available here in Manila through Purbeauty. One that I was looking forward to for a very long time is Ben Nye Cosmetics, an affordable yet densely pigmented line of makeup. Last week, I finally saw them displayed. I will be buying this after I’m finished with my Kryolan loose powders:

Ben Nye Loose Powder in Banana. The powder is very very fine, and at P300, it’s really affordable.

3. MAKEUP DESIGNORY CHEEK COLOR IN GLOW, P925

A dead ringer of Nars’ orgasm, but with less shimmer so it’s perfect for everyday. Very pigmented, too.

3. BDELLIUM TOOLS 10 PIECE BRUSH SET WITH BRUSH ROLL, around P5,000

I was able to use these brushes last week when I taught the personal makeup class, and the quality is good. At around P5,000, the price is not bad at all. It has the basics covered. Plus I like the brush roll, which is very utilitarian chic. Some of my students bought this and they’re very happy with it! I recommend this a starter brush set for newbie makeup artists, and as a personal set for makeup addicts/junkies.

4. GRAFTOBIAN LIP COLOR PALETTE, P1,500

Here’s another professional brand that is worth checking out. Most makeup artists I know carry Graftobian in their kit, and they’re satisfied with its performance.

If only I don’t have yet the shades in this palette, I would have instantly bought this. The color selection is perfect for bridal work. Other palettes are also available with different color selection.

5. GRAFTOBIAN HD PRO POWDER PALETTE, P5,000

I’m buying the refills for this palette. My Makeup Designory co-teacher Georginna Desuasido convinced me to buy these, and I will definitely! I like the full coverage it gives.
7. DOLLFACE EYESHADOW PALETTE, around P850

Who hasn’t heard of Dollface? With a whopping 88 colors in a palette and with an unbeatable price to boot, this is the go-to brand for makeup artists and junkies who don’t want to shell out on pricey eyeshadows yet. The color combinations are endless!

What are your favorite products from Purbeauty? I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

Purbeauty is located at the 2nd floor of Serendra, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sarahbacani29 on October 25, 2011 - 2:32 pm

    may ben nye na pla sa purbeauty! 🙂 haaangtagal ko na naghhanap online.. thank you ms. kris.. 🙂

    • #2 by krisbacani on October 27, 2011 - 1:31 am

      I think this month lang nila nilabas yun. You’re welcome!

  2. #3 by carla on October 30, 2011 - 5:24 am

    where can i buy orly nail polished online?
    pls help

  3. #5 by Chrissy on October 31, 2011 - 3:58 am

    Do they have Ben Nye eyeshadows? The more colorful ones sana 🙂

    • #6 by krisbacani on November 1, 2011 - 12:10 pm

      Hi Chrissy, last time I checked wala pa. You could ask them when it’s going to arrive, call 8469016 🙂

  4. #7 by jen on January 13, 2012 - 9:23 am

    i’ve been trying to call to ur landline but nobody answer the fone.. i called din kahapon super busy naman.. then tawag ulit, wala na sumagot.. till now 😦

    • #8 by krisbacani on January 13, 2012 - 11:13 pm

      Hi Jen, fyi, Purbeauty is not mine. Try calling nalang again maybe they’re just swamped with inquiries..

  5. #9 by chryztyners on January 19, 2012 - 12:43 pm

    New reader here! I’ve visited this store about 4 times already. I super love it, they have everything! And oh, I’ll soon try MUD products soon, the blushes look nice. I hope I can bump into you one of these days. Haha!

    • #10 by krisbacani on January 19, 2012 - 1:21 pm

      Hi! I’m in Purbeauty every weeknights til Feb, I’m teaching a makeup class. Hope you can drop by again 🙂

  6. #11 by angel on February 15, 2012 - 10:11 pm

    hey! checked the Ben Nye powder, it’s Php499 na? 😦

    • #12 by krisbacani on February 16, 2012 - 3:27 pm

      Hey Angel! The P300 plus pala is the white powder. The Beige and Banana is really P499. Sorry for that. But sulit pa rin! 🙂

Leave a Reply

