More on Cirque du Soleil Makeup

After watching Cirque du Soleil’s Varekai here in Manila, I am simply awed and inspired by this group. For me, they are a perfect example of excellence. Everything they do, from the dances and acrobatics to their costumes and makeup, are very well thought of, it’s obvious that they dedicated time and practice to perfect every detail. As a dancer myself, I can just imagine the grueling hours they’ve put in in coming up with such an elaborate show.

I decided to watch another Cirque production, Zaia, when I went to Macau last August. Hay, if only I had the talent to join Cirque, I would have done it years ago! My jaw was literally hanging the whole time I was watching. Everything looked surreal, I am running out of superlatives to describe them.

Me looking giddy at the entrance.

As a certified fangirl, I wanted to bring home a piece of Cirque with me. So in the tourist trap known as the souvenir shop, I bought their coffee table book celebrating their 25th year which focused on the evolution of their costumes.

It explained the design process– from conceptualization to sourcing of materials to the actual production. I also bought this book for the makeup. Of course, the costume wouldn’t be complete without the makeup, which they did superbly. Circus makeup is theatric, so they really played up the highlights and shadows. They also utilized mostly primary colors, but even with this basic color palette, the looks are anything but boring. Check out some of my fave looks:

Fiery Firebird!

Well executed aging makeup right there

This looks very avant garde to me

Where to watch Cirque du Soleil next? New York? Orlando? Las Vegas? Canada? Japan? I think I’ll make it a personal project to watch all Cirque productions all over the world from now on. Hmmm that’s quite a pricey proposition, now on to rob a bank…

, ,

  1. #1 by paulo on May 23, 2012 - 3:17 am

    amazing look thak´s cirque du solei to exist, thak God

Leave a Reply

