Carolyn (and why you should have your Tinghun at Edsa Shangri-la)

Carolyn is my good friend Joel’s fiancee. How he was able to bag a girl as beautiful and smart and nice as Carolyn is beyond me (kidding, mokmok!), but they do make a lovely pair.

We had our trial session on the same day of their engagement, aka tinghun in Chinese. Now, a word on tinghuns. I’ve done several makeup for such occasions and for some reason, they’re always held at Summer Palace in Edsa Shangri-la. Always. At 10am. Always. I asked Joel and Carolyn why is this, and they said that they were supposed to have their engagement at the Tan-Chi (Carolyn’s) residence, but Edsa Shang’s offer was too hard to resist. For an additional P5,000 (on top of your reservation at Summer Palace, of course), a certain Nancy will organize everything for you, no need to worry about all the details you need to remember regarding the tinghun tradition. For 5k, I think that’s sulit! And of course, let’s not forget the food. I’ve been dying to go back to Summer Palace, I want to eat their cereal prawns again!

Here are some photos from their engagement:

Airbrush makeup by Kris Bacani

Hair by Alex Leyson

Photos by Zeus Martinez

preps at the Tan-Chi residence

her mom looking on

I love this hair shot. Good job, Alex!

“Am I seriously marrying THAT guy??” (kidding again, Joel!)

“Honggondoh-gondoh ko!!!” Hahaha. Oh, and check out my branding 🙂

Gorgeous 🙂

I just have to include this photo, they’re Carolyn’s pamangkins. Chinese + American bloods = cuteness overload. 🙂

Congrats Joel and Carolyn! I’m looking forward to April 15 🙂

View more of my works here.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

