Cirque du Soleil Makeup for Varekai

I recently saw Cirque du Soleil perform Varekai in Manila last week with my family (thank you Mom and Dad for the free tickets!), and the show was simply breathtaking. Literally. You would hold your breath as the performers do their death-defying and back-breaking acrobatics, and the audience would collectively heave a sigh of relief and clap and whoop as they land safely on the ground. Another breathtaking thing to note though is their makeup, which is as theatric as their outlandish costumes.

I know they do their own makeup and that’s part of their training, but of course there must be a makeup designer  to do a template of the looks that the performers must follow. I stumbled upon the following photos online, see the amazing transformation:

before

such bright colors!

Makeup designer Nathalie Gagne does her thing. How I wish I were at her place!

finishing touches

ta-da! with the costume

before and after

finished look

Here are more amazing looks:

When will I ever have the chance to do this kind of makeup? Best thing I could do is be a Cirque acrobat this coming Halloween and do this to myself. Haha.

I want to watch Cirque again, so my friend Ajjie and I will watch the Zaia production 2 weeks from in Macau. Yahoo! 🙂

My sister and I outside the Grand Chapiteau

, , ,

  1. More on Cirque du Soleil Makeup « kRiss and makeup
  2. More on Cirque du Soleil Makeup | Kris Bacani Makeup Artistry

Leave a Reply

