8 Dream Careers for You: Make Them Come True! (Sarah Magazine)

This editorial is a double feature for me– I was quoted on how I started as a makeup artist, and incidentally I also did the makeup on the models in this article. I’m really flattered that my job is considered a dream career, it really is a dream come true for me! Ever since I started doing makeup full time last year, I’ve always looked forward to every single day of work. I am forever thankful for all the bookings and projects being given to me, and I love the fact that I am surrounded with creative and energetic people who are as passionate as me with their respective careers.

_____________________________________________________________________________

“Do not waste the vast majority of your life doing something you hate so that you can spend the small remainder sliver of your life in modest comfort. You may never reach that end anyway.

Resist the temptation to get a job. Instead, play. Find something you enjoy doing. Do it. Over and over again. You will become good at it for two reasons: you like it, and you do it often. Soon, that will have value in itself.”

— Adrian Tan, in his speech to a graduating class in a Singapore university two years ago

_____________________________________________________________________________

Makeup by Kris Bacani

Hair by Edwin Sayson

Styling by Rachelle Que

Photos by Cyrus Panganiban

Just in case you’re having a hard time reading the text, here’s what’s written under MAKEUP ARTIST:

The Works:

This dream job involves being familiar with makeup tools and knowing how to use them to enhance the physical features of your clients. Your services will be needed for special events like birthdays and weddings, and a plethora of commercial gigs: magazine and print ad shoots, TV commercials, and even movies.

Getting There:

Getting familiar with face shapes, colors, and blending– and a lot of experimentation and practice will turn you into a pro. “When I was just starting out, I practiced on a lot of faces until I became very confident that I could enhance the face of anyone who sits in front of me,” shares professional makeup artist Kris Bacani.

Like Kris, you could start by collaborating with your friends who are trying their hand at photography and modeling. “I did makeup for free on the models in exchange for the photos. It was a good way for me to expand my network and build my portfolio,” she adds.

Aside from these, it’s also crucial to save up money to build up your own makeup kit. Makeup itself can be a bit pricey, even more so quality equipment that will assist you in getting the job done right.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Dea on December 16, 2010 - 8:55 pm

    Hi Kris, I stumbled upon your site from W@W a few days ago, and I’ve been backreading since. I admire your work. Your last two posts are truly inspiring, you are truly inspiring. I had dreamed of becoming a make-up artist when I was young, but I never really seriously considered it as a possibility. It’s seems next to impossible now that I have a stable job that I’d have to be crazy to leave. But I’ll take a basic make-up class next year and see how that goes. Baby steps, right?

    Thank you so much for these posts. You have no idea how timely these are for me. And thangs for the tip about the saving part, I guess this will be a frugal Christmas for me. 🙂

    Take care and God bless! I hope I can schedule a trial session with you next year when I get down and dirty with wedding planning.

    Keep inspiring!

    • #2 by krisbacani on December 19, 2010 - 3:37 pm

      Hi Dea, thanks so much for reading my blog, it’s very nice to know I’m inspiring someone! I was really scared before when I left my job to pursue being a makeup artist, but i guess we have to be a bit crazy and take risks at some point in order to fulfill our passions. Taking a basic makeup class is definitely a start, I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun! If ever, you could always do it on the side, no need to leave a stable job =)

      When’s your wedding? Just contact me whenever you want to schedule a trial makeup.

      Btw, I’ll be teaching makeup starting next year in Serendra. My makeup school in New York, Makeup Designory, will be opening a branch there and I was chosen as one of the teachers. I’ll be teaching a full length, intensive beauty makeup class and some short, 2 day makeup workshops. Let me know if you’re interested so I could give you full details once they’re finalized.

      Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

      Kris
      http://www.krisbacani.com

Leave a Reply

