Project Level Up Part 3: NEW MAKEUP GEAR!

After finishing my logo and website, I was also itching to upgrade my makeup gear. I have been canvassing around and asking other makeup artists for months on what I could buy, and I finally settled on these three:

1. MAKEUP CHAIR

I bought a wooden makeup chair from Quiapo before for around P3,500. It’s ok, but I realized that not anyone could really sit in it, especially if my client is a bit on the heavy side. After over a year it’s now a bit rickety, so I stopped bringing it with me. I’ve heard of horror stories from other clients where the chair broke apart while someone is sitting on it, and I would definitely not wait for that to happen. I was searching for a chair with sturdy aluminum frames but I can’t find any available locally. Good thing my good friend and makeup artist Faye Young showed me her aluminum makeup chair when I visited her in her makeup studio. She ordered it online from Amazon and had it shipped here. The inggitera that I am, I ordered mine that same night! After 1 1/2 months, it finally arrived at my house =)

The height is perfect! I have scoliosis and my back hurts easily when I bend down a lot, so this is really heaven sent.

I like  this foldable thing at the left of the chair, I could set up my makeup here. No need for a table =) The chair also comes with a detachable canvas pouch which you could attach at the right side of the chair and a net that you could put below the seat if you want to put some stuff there, but I decided to remove them so it won’t be too bulky.


Of course it’s foldable so you could easily bring it anywhere. It’s also very, very lightweight, much lighter than the wooden one. I could carry it effortlessly with just one hand.

COST: $60.000 (P2,580.00) plus $30 (P1,290) shipping to New Jersey (because the store can’t directly ship to Phils so I have to have it shipped to my tita in New Jersey, who will ship it for me here) plus $50 (P2,150) shipping to Philippines.

TOTAL COST: P6,020 (not bad, considering that this would definitely last for years. Instead of buying branded, high-quality wooden makeup chair like the one from Makeup Forever which costs P16,000 plus, this one’s worth the price)


2. MAKEUP TROLLEY

I have separate makeup boxes for traditional makeup and airbrush makeup. Whenever I do weddings and other projects that require airbrush makeup, it is quite a pain to carry all of them because both kits does not have wheels. So I was looking for something with wheels that could fit all my stuff.

When I visited makeup artist Gold Magtoto at her condo (she wanted to buy some of the Makeup Designory makeup I was selling), I found out she’s also selling makeup kits, malettes, trolleys, and chairs. I have this particular trolley that I was eyeing for weeks now and when she said she has that model and showed it to me, I bought it on the spot! Here’s what it looked like:

The good thing about this is that it could be divided into two!

I bring the smaller one when I go to magazine shoots and other projects which just require basic makeup, and I attach it to the bigger one if I need to do airbrush makeup.

You could open up the bottom compartment like this:

It’s actually quite spacious and I could still put a lot of stuff there, perhaps my hairstyling equipment. Below that is where I put my air compressor.

And the smaller kit/upper compartment opens like this:

Again, no need for a table, I could work out of the kit. It’s stroller-type so no more lugging around heavy bags!

(without the upper kit)

It’s the ultimate Transformers makeup kit. I like how it’s so versatile, I could just carry the upper kit, the lower kit, or both!

COST: P6,800 (much lower than if you buy this from Suesh, which sell it at P8,500)

Gold has other makeup kits such as malette with stand and lights (P14,000), wooden makeup chair (P3,800), small makeup kit (P2,800). Her prices are definitely lower than most suppliers.  You could contact her at 0918 941 4529 if you’re interested to check out more of her products.

3. MAKEUP MALETTE WITH STAND AND LIGHTS

I already have a small malette with lights that I bought in Quiapo last year, but I wanted to buy a bigger one with stand for the sole reason that it looks more bongga in wedding photos. Haha.  I was telling makeup artist Denise Go-Ochoa when I met her again in a wedding (she did the bride’s makeup and I did the entourage’s) that I wanted to buy a bigger one, and she told me she’s selling hers already. I don’t mind buying a 2nd hand makeup malette as long as it’s in good condition, and I said I’m very interested to buy hers. This is what it looks like:

it’s also stroller type, and it opens up to this:

COST: a steal at P5,000!

Denise also sells TSZ Airbrush Makeup, so if you’re interested in buying or trying out TSZ (this is what she uses for her TVCs such as Pantene and in magazine covers such as Preview and Metro), you could contact her at 0917 320 7500 or check out TSZ’s Facebook page.

I’m so happy with my new makeup gear. Now this is quite THE set up!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by jhem on November 4, 2010 - 3:11 pm

    hi gud day!?
    saan nio po nabili un may miror and how much?
    and saan po un 3 patung n make up trolley and how much?nghahanap din po kc ako,im a make up artist to,im using fanny Serrano and paris make up..and may friend ooking for air brush?how much nmn po at san nbbli ang air brush…thank you have a gud day!godbless

    • #2 by krisbacani on November 4, 2010 - 3:17 pm

      hi jhem, please read the blog again, all the info’s there. thanks!

  2. #3 by ian on December 12, 2010 - 2:42 pm

    hi po.. i just want to ask where in quiapo could i go for those cases.. i want to give my gf a malette (if i got that right) for a gift sana… hope you could help me.. super thanks!

  3. #4 by mayla cordero on February 23, 2011 - 11:20 am

    ohhh im inggit much!!

    you bought the make up malette with stand and lights for 5k only =(

    if you dont mind may i ask where can i buy in quiapo??

    and also can you suggest cheap but good quality brush set??

    hope for your response
    thanks and godbless!

    • #5 by krisbacani on June 26, 2011 - 5:40 am

      Hi Mayla!

      Sorry for this very late reply, if you haven’t bought yet, the stall in quiapo is in the building beside quiapo church, the one with the cellphone accessories. Go up the 3rd floor. As for brushes, go for Suesh brushes 🙂

  4. #6 by Kim on June 25, 2011 - 5:26 pm

    Hi Kris,
    Can I ask what shipping company did you use to ship the makeup chair?
    Thanks!
    Kim

  5. #8 by Eenah on September 6, 2011 - 2:14 pm

    hi Kris! your make up malette with stand and lights is definitely a steal! i’m so green with envy! hahaha! oh, I also like the aluminum chair. definitely a MUST for MUAs 🙂

  6. #9 by daisy on November 30, 2011 - 7:38 am

    I like the make up kits, does it come with the make ups inside, pls how much is it in South Africa Rands and where in South Africa can I get it. I don’t know where you are. Thank you for your prompt response.

    • #10 by krisbacani on November 30, 2011 - 10:50 am

      Hi Daisy, no, it does not come with the makeup and it’s only available here in the Philippines.

  7. #11 by Jonah on December 23, 2011 - 10:09 pm

    Hi. I just want to ask. How much did you buy your malette with lights in Quiapo? I really want one. Thanks 🙂

    • #12 by krisbacani on December 24, 2011 - 12:17 pm

      Hi Jonah, I bought it for around 10k 🙂

  8. #13 by Kristine P. on January 12, 2012 - 10:46 am

    Hi. Im already enrolled at MDA. Im currently employed as a manager and wants make up artistry as career in the future. I just want to ask how lucrative is the pay in this career?Does it pay well?

    • #14 by krisbacani on January 12, 2012 - 7:57 pm

      Hi Kristine, if you really want to succeed in this career you will have to NOT think about the pay first. You will be doing a lot of things for free at first as you build your portfolio and your network. The pay really varies depending on the industry you’ll be working in– bridal, film, tv, fashion, etc. At first the pay is low, but as you gain more experience and practice, it eventually becomes very very rewarding 🙂

Leave a Reply

