PROJECT LEVEL UP Part 2: The Website

So after having an official logo, I wanted to develop a website next. I have Multiply and Carbonmade sites that serve as my online portfolio, but having my very own website that’s really built for me adds more credibility to the service I’m offering. Also, I think I’ve built a pretty strong portfolio already that’s deserving of a website. And, well, isn’t having http://www.krisbacani.com just too freakin’ cool?

I was approached by 88DB.com with a package that’s hard to resist. They offered a priority ad listing in the wedding category of their website (which I have already subscribed to before and it has given me lots of wedding clients), plus design, hosting and maintenance of my website, plus SEO support for both (if you don’t know what SEO or Search Engine Optimization is, just Google it. I will bore you to death if I’ll explain it here). Those 3 for a price that’s within my budget =)

So after that was settled, we proceeded with doing the initial design. I wanted a no-nonsense design, very much like how the Carbonmade template looks like. Just clean, simple, and very easy to navigate. I asked Rocky, the web designer assigned to me, to come up with three studies for the homepage.

Here’s what he came up with:

The first one looks like it’s http://www.candymag.com. Haha =)

Eeeep! One word: TACKY!!!

Wait, this one almost looks like the 1st one, so it’s not considered as another study. I asked Rocky to come up with a completely different one:

Yikes, tacky again!

Hmmm, so this first set doesn’t look promising, but out of all of the above, I’m going with the 1st design. So I asked Rocky if he could make the background darker so it looks more sophisticated, and also to lessen the use of color. Here’s the second batch:

Looking better now =)

Black really does make everything look more sophisticated. I liked the 2nd one better, but my concern is that the color of my logo was a bit altered. What if the background will have a gradient from light to dark instead of  just solid black?

LOVE IT! This is THE ONE!

I though that it’s going to be an easy ride after we’ve finalized the homepage design, but I was very wrong. I think it took us a little less than 3 months to complete all the content, and I was very careful not to have any typos, all the links and animation were working, and the quality of the photos weren’t sacrificed.

After all that work, I must say it’s definitely worth it! Thanks so much Rocky for bearing with me, and thanks also to Rosey, my ever trusty account executive, for bearing with my OC-ness.

Check out my spanking new website here! =)

,

  1. #1 by Geraldine Cabrera on October 3, 2010 - 8:18 am

    Good Day Kris! i heard your name at weddings@work:) just want to ask your wedding package/rate and if your free on 25th oct 2010? hope to hear from you! take care!

  1. Project Level Up Part 3: NEW MAKEUP GEAR! « KRIS AND MAKEUP

Leave a Reply

